Overwhelmed

Do you ever have that overwhelming feeling and you suddenly feel like your drowning?

Today when I woke, that feeling washed over me.

I felt overwhelmed by the uncertainty of our future, overwhelmed by business commitments, overwhelmed by constant needs of offspring, overwhelmed by pets needing care, overwhelmed by a yard filled with autumn leaves, overwhelmed by housework that never seems to go away, overwhelmed by a laundry that is rarely empty and overwhelmed by an office full of papers. Simply overwhelmed by responsibility!

9E3915CA-0FC0-474A-AF7A-7AD7515B065CSo I did the only thing I know to do. I sat at my piano and sang.  It wasn’t easy and it took some pre-learned fortitude to push through those overwhelming feelings, but as I sang a peace slowly settled on my mind and I could hear the words of an old song reminding me of who I am.

“When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the ROCK that is higher than I”.  That’s who am. I’m the one who can call out anytime to the the one who leads me to the Rock, to the place of peace and safety.

It’s here in this Rock place that all those earthly pressures can find their rightful place and anxious thoughts can find rest and here, a kind thought came saying  “just leave it all a go and do something that feeds your soul, leave all these thoughts that are weighing heavy on this Rock.”

So I did.  I walked out to stand in the sun and look out into the green of the garden and soak up its beauty.  The sun took seconds to soak into my cool skin.  I could feel it waking me up and I thought why not just put on those garden gloves on and start raking up those autumn leaves.  Warmed by the sun on my face, I began to sort through the weight of all I was feeling.  I raked and carried those autumn leaves to the big winter pile that was growing down in the back paddock and breathing in the clear air for the last time that day,  I took a match and threw it into the pile and stood back to watch the fire burn.  Hungrily it burnt up all that mess and as it did I breathed in the smokey air feeling pleased I’d picked up those gloves!

I remember years ago a friend would always ask me “How do you eat an elephant?” and she would chuckle and answer herself, “one bite at a time”.  A funny little quote but so very true and sometimes it’s just in the starting that things seem to get a whole lot better.

So if your feeling overwhelmed, don’t give up, first go to the Rock and then maybe you’ll find a way to pick up your gloves too!

2017-03-21 13.03.43

Leave a Reply

