A Christmas Gift

Three and a half years in waiting and the door opens.

IMG_0053_2
Not everyone would consider an operation a gift, but for us, it is a long awaited door and the beginning of a new day.  We almost can’t believe it, we’ve waited so long, everything hinging on this day and as Christmas approaches a sigh of great relief falls from our lips.

Waiting Resting Expecting

IMG_0052_2

It’s a slow mend and with it comes more emotion.

I left him on that table yet again and the tears of relief wouldn’t seem to stop. Then the nagging thoughts of ‘will this make any difference and what about the risks?” I can’t even think about that.  Hoping for the best but fear the surgeons words might be true ‘this won’t fix any thing, it will only make him safe’.  He shows us the irreparable damage and the stark truth screams at us,  but still we believe.

IMG_0029_2Why do we still believe against all odds?

Why do we continue to hope after all this?

BECAUSE HE DELIGHTS IN US

IMG_0116_2
HE DELIGHTS IN US!  I’m reading this and I’m feeling this. I’m reading David’s song in a book called Samuel and I’m feeling God’s overwhelming presence rushing in.  Today it’s almost tangible.

I can see Him coming to our aid like never before.  He’s angry with the one who has tried to destroy us.  I’m crying and I realise I need not fear.

My Rock – My Fortress  – My Deliverer – My Refuge – My Shield –  My Salvation – My – Stronghold – My Saviour – My Rescuer – My Supporter – My Holder – My Strengthener

IMG_0115_2HE HEARS ME AND WHEN HE DOES HE’S ANGRY, HE’S POWERFUL

The earth trembles, quakes and there’s fire coming from His mouth, smoke from His nostrils.  The heavens part and he’s coming on the Cherubim to help ME just like he did for David.

PICTURE IT – I DO AND IM HUMBLED BY HIS POWER.  HOW COULD I EVER DOUBT THAT HE’S HAD THIS COVERED ALL ALONG JUST LIKE HE PROMISED?

Rain and Thunder as his voice booms out.

He shoots arrows and the enemy scatters, gone, they run they scour as bolts of lightening chase them. The scene is pandemonium but we’re on the winning side. No fear here.

IMG_0094_2

AND THEN THROUGH THE CHAOS, GENTLY, HIS HAND REACHES DOWN FROM ON HIGH

IMG_0123_2He Holds

He Lifts

He Rescues

IMG_0109_2He carries us to a SPACIOUS place, a safe place far from trouble, far from pain.

IMG_7171

 

We are so frail, fickle and oft times faithless.

 

Why is his heart moved to help us?

 

BECAUSE HE DELIGHTS IN US, I’ll say it again

HE DELIGHTS IN US

I believe it.

Read it all in 2 Samual 22:1-50

IMG_0200_2

11 thoughts on “A Christmas Gift

  1. Bless you Steph,and good on you for keeping believing! Because God doesn’t change and He is love goes on and He is able. Love and prayers for you and Noel.

    1. Hey Anni,
      Thanks it’s been some journey but God is good thru it all and while there’s life hope is alive and well! Always an adventure!
      Looks like you’ve had a big year with a wedding! Xx

Leave a Reply

