Dream a Little Dream

Dream a Little Dream

DSCN0046

Close your eyes and imagine

I’ve heard and read that without a dream or ‘a vision’ we’ll perish, some even say that without a ‘vision’ or a dream that’s growing and evolving, a ‘progressive vision’ we just wander aimlessly.’ We could end up anywhere and never achieve anything.

IMG_0726

When I was young I sang a song with a few little friends about wasted years……”wasted years oh how foolish as you wander in darkness and strife’……we sang with purpose and conviction hoping to reach someones heart and help them turn from an empty life but now, looking back I wonder if I may have been singing to myself! Did I ‘seize the day’? Did I waste the time given me? Have I accomplished enough? Will arrive at my final day feeling satisfied or will I look old and rickety?

DSCN1314

There’s so much I’d still like to do that would make the sum of me look a whole lot better but I guess it depends on how one measures success and what one considers as valuable…as treasure.

“they say that where your treasure is there will your heart be also….your heart is where you hide your deepest love”

The more I get to know my maker, the more I see that His ways are so different to our ways.  The way up is down and the way to life is to die. Go figure! This just doesn’t make sense in a world where we’re always encouraged to climb to the top….

But I’ve come to realise that he’s not interested in what we can do or how we look on paper….He’s more into shaping the heart of a man and nothing shapes it like trouble!

So do we just wander aimlessly waiting for the next open door hoping that things will just work out or do we plan, build and allow him to adjust our vision along the way?

The word “vision” in Hebrew (in this instance) means “a mental sight”, to mentally see a vision, revelation or a dream. I think we’re meant to look ahead with hope and purpose.


holiday12 043I remember the early days of planning for our new offices. The dreaming, the vision, searching for the right place, the excitement, the risks, the steps of faith, the set backs. Recovering from that awful accident while others readied for the move and then finally the realisation that this dream, this vision, wasn’t the one that God saw for us.  Was the road that he’d planned for us really THIS ?

IMG_0045 DSCN1219

I ponder that for a minute…..

The shaping of the man and the shaping of the heart. It wasn’t the destination that was important but rather, all that he’d taught us on the journey and the big question was “were we ready to let everything go and let it all be turned upside down?”

I think about aspirations, hopes and dreams. What’s driving me? What about ambition?

How much should we let ourselves be fuelled by these things and where does trusting God fit into all this dreaming and planning? I can’t answer that for you but I do know that if he is at the helm then you’ll arrive at the right destination in due course.

I will guide you along the best pathway for your life, I will guide you and watch over you”  Psalm 32:8

So all my pipe dreams I lay again at his feet…..

singing my story, the little vintage cafe, ministry in a growing church or just the little white house with that Jacaranda tree!  Whatever they be and in all the days spent dreaming, I surrender them to His dream which is far bigger than mine.

280620121299

because His design is Perfect

If He says that he’ll guide us, then we’ve got to believe that he’s doing just that and nothing that happens isn’t without purpose or design….. think about it. If He is the fuel that fires us then all the other stuff will fall into place and we’ll live the life we’re meant to live.

remember “seek first His kingdom”

WHEN AMBITION becomes the fuel things get messy. Let ambition take its rightful place down the ladder. If we have to PUSH ourselves forward, walk on other people to get where we want then I think we’re missing the point.  The point is…that HE can and will guide us along the BEST pathway for our lives and it may may not be exactly what we see. This is where the testing comes into view…the letting go, the laying down….yet often so we can pick it up again.

DSCN0413

This is a dream placed in God’s hands…

It doesn’t mean we can’t have a vision, a dream or have aspirations. Nor does it mean that they won’t happen, it just means that all our dreams, all our aspirations go first to the chief designer.

Just look at Joseph (The Dreamer). He had some grand dreams, some wild aspirations and a colourful coat that eventually got him into a whole lot of trouble. But eventually, that trouble was saving grace for his family. God meant it for good! Joseph was about the destination but didn’t know what was on the road ahead. Many of us want the dream but  don’t want a road  that’s thwart with uncertainty, even heart ache.

But if Joseph had risen to the place he saw in his dream without the journey that led him there, he wouldn’t have even been half the man he turned out to be.  No doubt God put that dream deep inside his heart the character formed in him was worth more than Gold. I bet he was blown away to see God’s plan unfold and stood in awe of God’s handiwork.

Let’s not be driven by our dreams

Let the designer drive them for us

Dare to follow your dreams, but dare more to let the dream giver drive you there!

One thought on “Dream a Little Dream

  1. Beautifully written, as always, lovely Steph…. From a heart of compassionate understanding… We totally get that now… After years of not…. Man makes his plans, but God directs his steps…. So true… Love journeying with you from afar… Love and prayers… Deb… Xxx

Leave a Reply

